Skip to main content

ANI Technologies (Ola Consumer / Ola Cabs)

Business Model Analysis

How Ola Makes Money

Annual Revenue: ~$135.8M

Executive Summary

Ola generates revenue primarily through On-Demand Ride Hailing, with roughly ~$135.8M in annual revenue.

Core Growth Engine: Ola's current strategy is retrenchment around ride-hailing: it exited the UK, Australia and New Zealand in April 2024, shut used cars, cloud kitchens, grocery and ONDC food and commerce, cut staff, and moved drivers to z...

Revenue Model & Pricing

Ola is an asset-light marketplace: independent drivers own their cars, autos and bikes, and Ola supplies demand, dispatch, maps and payments. Historically it took a 15-20% commission on each fare. During FY26 it rolled out a pan-India zero-commission model in which drivers pay fixed daily or monthly subscriptions instead. That trades variable commission income for steadier platform fees, so Ola is building advertising, financial services (via Ola Financial Services, which holds a prepaid payment instrument licence), enterprise travel contracts and subscriptions as additional revenue lines.

Core Revenue Streams

Ride commissions and driver subscriptions

Not disclosed

Per-ride commissions historically 15-20% of fare, being replaced by fixed driver subscriptions.

Advertising and enterprise travel

Not disclosed

In-app advertising and corporate travel contracts.

Financial services

Not disclosed

Ola Money wallet and related services through Ola Financial Services.

Growth Strategy

Ola's current strategy is retrenchment around ride-hailing: it exited the UK, Australia and New Zealand in April 2024, shut used cars, cloud kitchens, grocery and ONDC food and commerce, cut staff, and moved drivers to zero-commission subscriptions. Growth bets now sit in higher-margin adjacencies such as advertising, enterprise contracts and financial services, with a planned IPO as the funding route.

How Ola Makes Money: FAQ

How does Ola make money?

Ola historically took a 15-20% commission on rides. It now charges drivers fixed daily or monthly subscriptions and earns from advertising, enterprise travel and financial services.

Does Ola own its cars?

No. Ola runs an asset-light marketplace in which independent drivers own their vehicles.

What is Ola's zero-commission model?

Rolled out pan-India in FY26, it replaces per-ride commissions with fixed driver subscription fees, similar to Rapido's model.

What is Ola Money?

Ola Money is a prepaid wallet operated by subsidiary Ola Financial Services, which the RBI inspected during FY25.

What is Ola's disruptive "zero-commission" subscription model for cab and auto drivers?

In late 2023, Ola introduced a flat-fee daily or weekly software subscription model for autorickshaw and cab drivers, eliminating traditional 20% to 25% take-rate commissions. Drivers keep 100% of customer trip fares while paying Ola a fixed platform access fee, neutralizing competition from zero-commission apps like Namma Yatri.

How does Ola monetize ride-hailing through ancillary value-added services?

Beyond trip commissions, Ola earns revenue from in-trip passenger ride insurance (in partnership with Acko), trip cancellation convenience fees, dynamic surge pricing algorithms, and in-cab interactive digital entertainment screens (Ola Play).

What is Ola's role in the Open Network for Digital Commerce (ONDC)?

Ola integrated with India's government-backed ONDC network to offer zero-commission food delivery and grocery fulfillment, utilizing its idle driver fleet during off-peak hours to complete hyper-local last-mile deliveries.

How does Ola Fleet Technologies manage vehicle leasing and driver financing?

Through its subsidiary Ola Fleet Technologies, the company previously leased vehicles directly to partner drivers, collecting daily recurring rental fees and offering captive maintenance, insurance, and fleet operations.

Related Companies

Compare ANI Technologies (Ola Consumer / Ola Cabs) With Competitors

Related Monetization Mechanics

Compare revenue streams, unit economics, and business models

Content is for informational purposes only. Not financial advice. Data sourced from SEC filings, annual reports, and public records. See our full disclaimer and methodology.