Procter & Gamble vs TotalEnergies: Revenue, Profit and Business Model
Procter & Gamble reported $87B of revenue in FY2026 and $16B of net income. TotalEnergies reported $201.2B of revenue in FY2025 and $13.1B of net income.
Latest financial snapshot
Procter & Gamble
- Latest revenue
- $87B (FY2026)
- Net income
- $16B
- Net margin
- 18.4%
- Revenue growth
- +3.3% a year, FY2017–FY2026
TotalEnergies
- Latest revenue
- $201.2B (FY2025)
- Net income
- $13.1B
- Net margin
- 6.5%
- Revenue growth
- +5.2% a year, FY2016–FY2025
Financial summary
Procter & Gamble
P&G's finances are defined by steady sales, high margins and large cash returns rather than fast growth. Net sales rose from $65.1 billion in fiscal 2017 to $87.0 billion in fiscal 2026. In fiscal 2026 diluted EPS was $6.62 (up 2%) and core EPS was $6.89 (up 1%), with core gross and operating margins slipping 40 and 70 basis points as costs rose. The company returned more than $15 billion to shareholders, about $10.2 billion in dividends and $5 billion in buybacks, and has raised its dividend for 70 consecutive years. For fiscal 2027 it guided to 1%-3% organic sales growth and core EPS of $6.89-$7.11.
TotalEnergies
TotalEnergies' 2025 results showed how much its earnings still track oil prices. Revenues from sales fell to $182.344 billion (total revenues including excise taxes of $201.2 billion), adjusted net income dropped 15% to $15.6 billion and IFRS net income attributable to shareholders was $13.1 billion. Cash flow slipped only 7% to nearly $28 billion because upstream production grew about 4%. Gearing ended 2025 at 15%, ROACE was 12.6% and the 2025 dividend rose 5.6% to €3.40 per share. In 2026, higher crude prices linked to the Middle East conflict reversed the trend: second-quarter adjusted net income reached $6.0 billion, cash flow $9.8 billion and first-half adjusted net income about $11.4 billion.
Revenue and profit by year
Procter & Gamble
| Year | Revenue | Net income | Margin | Growth | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2026 | $87B | $16B | 18.4% | +3.3% | Source |
| FY2025 | $84.3B | $16B | 19.0% | +0.3% | Source |
| FY2024 | $84B | $14.9B | 17.7% | +2.5% | Source |
| FY2023 | $82B | $14.7B | 17.9% | +2.3% | Source |
| FY2022 | $80.2B | $14.7B | 18.4% | +5.3% | Source |
| FY2021 | $76.1B | $14.3B | 18.8% | +7.3% | Source |
| FY2020 | $71B | $13B | 18.4% | +4.8% | Source |
| FY2019 | $67.7B | $3.9B | 5.8% | +1.3% | Source |
| FY2018 | $66.8B | $9.8B | 14.6% | +2.7% | Source |
| FY2017 | $65.1B | $15.3B | 23.6% | — | Source |
TotalEnergies
| Year | Revenue | Net income | Margin | Growth | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $201.2B | $13.1B | 6.5% | -6.2% | Source |
| FY2024 | $214.6B | $15.8B | 7.3% | -9.5% | Source |
| FY2023 | $237.1B | $21.4B | 9.0% | -15.6% | Source |
| FY2022 | $281B | $20.5B | 7.3% | +36.5% | Source |
| FY2021 | $205.9B | $16B | 7.8% | +46.3% | Source |
| FY2020 | $140.7B | -$7.2B | -5.1% | -29.8% | Source |
| FY2019 | $200.3B | $11.3B | 5.6% | -4.3% | Source |
| FY2018 | $209.4B | $11.4B | 5.5% | +40.4% | Source |
| FY2017 | $149.1B | $8.6B | 5.8% | +16.6% | Source |
| FY2016 | $127.9B | $6.2B | 4.8% | — | Source |
Where the revenue comes from
Procter & Gamble
- Fabric and Home Care
Largest segment
Laundry, dish care, air care, and household cleaning brands including Tide, Ariel, Dawn, Febreze, and Swiffer.
- Baby, Feminine and Family Care
Major segment
Pampers, Always, Bounty, Charmin, and related baby, feminine, and family-care products.
- Beauty
Major segment
Hair care, skin care, and prestige beauty brands including Head & Shoulders, Pantene, Olay, and SK-II.
- Health Care
Major segment
Oral care and personal health products such as Oral-B, Crest, Vicks, and Metamucil.
- Grooming
Focused segment
Gillette, Venus, Braun, and shaving-related products.
TotalEnergies
- Exploration & Production
Not disclosed here
Sales of crude oil and gas from about 2.5 million boe per day of 2025 production.
- Integrated LNG
Not disclosed here
Liquefaction, shipping, trading and sale of LNG and gas under long-term and spot contracts.
- Integrated Power
Not disclosed here
Wholesale and retail electricity from renewables, gas-fired plants and storage, plus retail gas supply.
- Refining & Chemicals
Not disclosed here
Refined fuels, polymers and petrochemicals from integrated industrial platforms.
- Marketing & Services
Not disclosed here
Retail and B2B sales of fuels, lubricants, aviation fuel and EV charging.
Business model and strategy
Procter & Gamble
How it makes money
P&G makes money by designing, manufacturing and marketing branded household and personal-care products that consumers buy every week, then selling them through retailers, club stores, pharmacies, distributors and e-commerce platforms. Revenue comes from five reportable segments: Fabric & Home Care (Tide, Ariel, Dawn, Downy, Febreze), the largest; Baby, Feminine & Family Care (Pampers, Always, Bounty, Charmin);
Growth strategy
P&G's integrated growth strategy has five parts: a portfolio focused on about ten daily-use categories, superiority across product, packaging, communication, retail execution and value, productivity savings to fund reinvestment, 'constructive disruption' of its own practices, and an agile, accountable organization.
Competitive advantage
P&G's edge is the combination of category leadership and scale. It concentrates on about ten daily-use categories where performance differences are visible to consumers (cleaning, absorbency, shaving, oral care), funds roughly $2 billion a year of R&D to keep those gaps, and uses its size to buy materials, media and logistics more cheaply than smaller rivals.
TotalEnergies
How it makes money
TotalEnergies makes money across five reporting segments. Exploration & Production sells crude oil and gas from about 2.5 million barrels of oil equivalent per day of output. Integrated LNG liquefies, ships, trades and sells gas from projects in Qatar, the U.S., Nigeria, Australia, Papua New Guinea and elsewhere.
Growth strategy
TotalEnergies' strategy centers on low-cost oil and gas production, LNG integration, disciplined downstream operations, renewable power capacity, electricity customers, and cash returns to shareholders.
Competitive advantage
TotalEnergies has an integrated LNG platform, upstream assets across multiple basins, downstream and marketing positions, and a growing power portfolio. Its advantage is breadth across molecules, refined products, and electrons.
Questions about Procter & Gamble vs TotalEnergies
Which company has higher revenue — The Procter & Gamble Company or TotalEnergies SE?
The Procter & Gamble Company reported $87.0B (FY2026), while TotalEnergies SE reported $201.2B (FY2025). By last reported revenue, TotalEnergies SE is the larger business, with The Procter & Gamble Company reporting a smaller revenue base. Note: these are from different fiscal years and are not a direct like-for-like comparison.
What is the market cap of The Procter & Gamble Company vs TotalEnergies SE?
The Procter & Gamble Company's market capitalisation stands at $340.0B, while TotalEnergies SE's is $205.0B. The Procter & Gamble Company carries the higher market valuation, reflecting investors' expectations of its future earnings power relative to TotalEnergies SE.
Which is more financially efficient — The Procter & Gamble Company or TotalEnergies SE?
The Procter & Gamble Company generates $798k / employee in revenue per employee, while TotalEnergies SE generates $2.01M / employee. TotalEnergies SE shows higher revenue efficiency per headcount, though this reflects business model differences — capital-light software companies routinely outperform labour-intensive manufacturers on this metric.
How do The Procter & Gamble Company and TotalEnergies SE make money?
The Procter & Gamble Company and TotalEnergies SE generate revenue in fundamentally different ways. The Procter & Gamble Company: P&G makes money by designing, manufacturing and marketing branded household and personal-care products that consumers buy every week, then selling them through retailers, club stores, pharmacies, distributors and e-commerce platforms. TotalEnergies SE: TotalEnergies makes money across five reporting segments.
Which company is valued higher relative to revenue — The Procter & Gamble Company or TotalEnergies SE?
On a price-to-sales (P/S) basis, The Procter & Gamble Company trades at 3.9x P/S and TotalEnergies SE at 1.0x P/S. The Procter & Gamble Company commands a higher revenue multiple, typically indicating that investors expect faster growth or higher future margins compared to TotalEnergies SE. A higher multiple is not inherently better — it may also signal that the stock is priced for perfection.
Is The Procter & Gamble Company bigger than TotalEnergies SE?
By last reported revenue, TotalEnergies SE ($201.2B (FY2025)) is the larger company compared to The Procter & Gamble Company ($87.0B (FY2026)). Revenue scale is one dimension of size — market capitalisation, employee count, and geographic reach are also relevant depending on the context.
Figures come from each company's filings and the sources linked beside them. Amounts reported in another currency are shown in US dollars at an approximate rate and marked with ~. Back to the Procter & Gamble vs TotalEnergies overview