Skip to main content

McLaren Automotive vs Nissan: Revenue, Profit and Business Model

McLaren Automotive had ~$615M of annual revenue in FY2023. Nissan had ~$80.5B of annual revenue in FY2026 and a net loss of ~$3.6B.

Latest financial snapshot

McLaren Automotive

Latest annual revenue
~$615M (FY2023)
Net income
Unavailable here
Net margin
—
Revenue growth
-11.4% a year, FY2021–FY2023

Nissan

Latest annual revenue
~$80.5B (FY2026)
Net income
~-$3.6B
Net margin
-4.4%
Revenue growth
+9.3% a year, FY2022–FY2026

Financial summary

McLaren Automotive

McLaren has struggled to fund new models from its own cash. The 2020 pandemic forced job cuts, a ~$224 million (£170 million) sale-and-leaseback of the Woking campus and fresh shareholder funding. In 2023 revenue fell 25.8% to ~$615 million (£465.9 million) as deliveries dropped, and the holding company booked a record loss that included a ~$495 million (£375 million) impairment. Mumtalakat kept the business funded until CYVN Holdings took over in April 2025; CYVN has not published standalone McLaren Automotive figures since.

Nissan

Revenue peaked at ~$85 billion (¥12.69 trillion) in FY2023 (ended March 2024), with net income of ~$2.86 billion (¥426.6 billion). Then weak U.S. pricing, an ageing lineup and share losses in China hit results. FY2024 revenue was ~$84.6 billion (¥12.63 trillion) with a ~$4.5 billion (¥670.9 billion) net loss, driven by impairments and restructuring charges. FY2025 revenue fell 4.9% to ~$80.4 billion (¥12.0 trillion) and the net loss narrowed to ~$3.57 billion (¥533.1 billion), while operating profit stayed positive at ~$389 million (¥58.0 billion) (0.5% margin). Automotive free cash flow was minus ~$3.22 billion (¥480.8 billion) for the year but turned positive (~$750 million (¥112 billion)) in the second half. Nissan ended FY2025 with ~$7.84 billion (¥1.17 trillion) of automotive net cash and ~$24.1 billion (¥3.6 trillion) of total liquidity, and paid no dividend. In Q1 FY2026 (April to June 2026), revenue rose 9.5% to ~$19.9 billion (¥2.964 trillion) and operating profit was ~$522 million (¥77.9 billion), against a ~$530 million (¥79.1 billion) loss a year earlier. Nissan Motor Co., Ltd. is a colossal Japanese multinational automobile manufacturer and a core member of the Renault–Nissan–Mitsubishi Alliance, commanding a market valuation generally exceeding $15 billion.

Revenue and profit by year

McLaren Automotive

McLaren Automotive revenue, net income, margin and growth by fiscal year
YearRevenueNet incomeMarginGrowthSource
FY2023~$615M——-25.8%Source
FY2022~$828.7M——+5.7%Source
FY2021~$783.7M———Source
Full McLaren Automotive financials

Nissan

Nissan revenue, net income, margin and growth by fiscal year
YearRevenueNet incomeMarginGrowthSource
FY2026~$80.5B~-$3.6B-4.4%-4.9%Source
FY2025~$84.6B~-$4.5B-5.3%-0.4%Source
FY2024~$85B~$2.9B3.4%+19.7%Source
FY2023~$71B~$1.5B2.1%+25.8%Source
FY2022~$56.4B~$1.4B2.6%—Source
Full Nissan financials

Where the revenue comes from

McLaren Automotive

  • Series supercars (Artura, 750S, GTS)

    Not disclosed

    Most of McLaren's unit volume, sold through franchised retailers worldwide.

  • Ultimate Series hypercars (W1 and limited editions)

    Not disclosed

    Small runs at multi-million-dollar prices, such as the 399-unit W1.

  • MSO personalisation, racing, parts and service

    Not disclosed

    Bespoke options, customer GT3/GT4 cars, servicing and heritage work.

Nissan

  • Vehicle Core Manufacturing88

    Wholesale deliveries of passenger sedans, crossover SUVs, pickup trucks, and EVs through franchised global dealer networks.

  • Sales Financing10

    Retail auto purchase loans, consumer vehicle leases, and wholesale dealer inventory floorplan financing yields.

  • Aftermarket, Software & Licensing2

    Distribution of genuine replacement parts, Nismo performance tuning kits, NissanConnect digital subscriptions, and battery recycling.

Business model and strategy

McLaren Automotive

How it makes money

McLaren sells hand-assembled cars through a franchised retailer network. Series models (Artura, 750S and the GTS grand tourer) provide most of the volume, while Ultimate Series hypercars such as the 399-unit W1 are sold in small numbers at multi-million-dollar prices. Bespoke options from McLaren Special Operations (MSO), customer GT racing cars, servicing and parts add further income.

Growth strategy

Growth now rests on the CYVN merger. Combining McLaren with Forseven gives McLaren access to more engineers and capital for electrified and multi-seat models, while the McLaren Licensing business aims to earn more from the brand. Earlier, Michael Leiters (CEO 2022-2025) focused on fixing Artura quality problems and stabilising production.

Competitive advantage

Every McLaren road car since the 2011 MP4-12C has used a carbon-fibre tub, a technique the company brought to Formula 1 with the 1981 MP4/1. Tubs for current cars are made at its composites plant in Sheffield, which gives McLaren lighter, stiffer cars than many aluminium-chassis rivals and a clear engineering story linked to its F1 team.

McLaren Automotive business model in full

Nissan

How it makes money

Nissan makes money in two segments. The automobile business designs, builds and wholesales Nissan, Infiniti and NISMO vehicles (crossovers such as the Rogue/X-Trail, Kicks and Qashqai, sedans such as the Sentra and Altima, pickups such as the Frontier/Navara, and EVs such as the Leaf, Ariya and Sakura) to franchised dealers, and also sells parts.

Growth strategy

Re:Nissan, announced in May 2025, is a restructuring plan before it is a growth plan. It targets ~$3.35 billion (¥500 billion) in fixed and variable cost savings against FY2024, about 20,000 job reductions, and cutting vehicle plants from 17 to 10 by FY2027. Vehicle production at Oppama will end in FY2027 and move to Nissan Motor Kyushu.

Competitive advantage

Nissan's advantage is a global manufacturing footprint and long experience with electric vehicles. It launched the mass-market Leaf in 2010, which gives it more than a decade of data on how batteries perform in everyday use. Its e-POWER system, in which a petrol engine charges the battery and never drives the wheels, offers an option for markets with few EV chargers.

Nissan business model in full

Questions about McLaren Automotive vs Nissan

Which company has higher revenue — McLaren Automotive or Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.?

McLaren Automotive had ~$615M (FY2023), while Nissan Motor Co., Ltd. had ~$80.5B (FY2026). By latest annual revenue, Nissan Motor Co., Ltd. is the larger business, with McLaren Automotive showing a smaller revenue base. Note: these are from different fiscal years and are not a direct like-for-like comparison.

What is the market cap of McLaren Automotive vs Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.?

Nissan Motor Co., Ltd. has a market capitalisation of $7.0B. A public market cap figure for McLaren Automotive was not available (it may be privately held).

How does revenue per employee compare for McLaren Automotive and Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.?

Nissan Motor Co., Ltd. generates $670k / employee in revenue per employee. A comparable figure for McLaren Automotive requires matching employee and revenue data from the same reporting period.

How do McLaren Automotive and Nissan Motor Co., Ltd. make money?

McLaren Automotive and Nissan Motor Co., Ltd. generate revenue in fundamentally different ways. McLaren Automotive: McLaren sells hand-assembled cars through a franchised retailer network. Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.: Nissan makes money in two segments.

Is McLaren Automotive bigger than Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.?

By last reported revenue, Nissan Motor Co., Ltd. (~$80.5B (FY2026)) is the larger company compared to McLaren Automotive (~$615M (FY2023)). Revenue scale is one dimension of size — market capitalisation, employee count, and geographic reach are also relevant depending on the context.

Figures come from each company's filings and the sources linked beside them. Amounts reported in another currency are shown in US dollars at an approximate rate and marked with ~. Back to the McLaren Automotive vs Nissan overview

Content is for informational purposes only. Not financial advice. Data sourced from SEC filings, annual reports, and public records. See our full disclaimer and methodology.