Atlassian vs Postman: Revenue, Profit and Business Model
Atlassian reported $6.6B of revenue in FY2026 and a net loss of $53.8M. Postman does not publish annual revenue.
Latest financial snapshot
Financial summary
Atlassian
Atlassian's fiscal 2026 revenue was $6.57 billion, up 26%, with Cloud at $4.41 billion (up 28%), Data Center at $1.83 billion (up 25%), and Marketplace and other at $330.7 million. Subscription annual recurring revenue reached $6.6 billion, up 23%. The company is still unprofitable under GAAP, but the gap is narrowing: the net loss fell to $53.8 million from $256.7 million, and GAAP operating income was positive for the first time, at $10.4 million. Stock-based compensation of $1.61 billion, 24% of revenue, is most of what separates that result from $1.32 billion of free cash flow. Research and development absorbed $3.27 billion, half of revenue, against $1.54 billion for marketing and sales. Cash and cash equivalents ended the year at $1.24 billion, after $1.23 billion of cash paid for the Browser Company and DX acquisitions and $1.81 billion of Class A share repurchases, against $989.6 million of long-term debt.
Postman
Postman is private and does not publish revenue, profit or ARR. The verifiable financial record is its funding: a $1 million seed round from Nexus Venture Partners in 2015, a $7 million Series A in 2016, a $50 million Series B led by CRV in 2019, a $150 million Series C led by Insight Partners at a $2 billion valuation in June 2020, and a $225 million Series D led by Insight Partners at a $5.6 billion valuation in August 2021, for roughly $433 million in total. Revenue figures that circulate online, from about $150 million to more than $300 million in ARR, are third-party estimates and are not confirmed by the company. The 2026 pricing overhaul, which ended free team collaboration and added metered AI credits, is a clear push to convert more of its free user base into paying seats.
Revenue and profit by year
Atlassian
| Year | Revenue | Net income | Margin | Growth | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2026 | $6.6B | -$53.8M | -0.8% | +26.0% | Source |
| FY2025 | $5.2B | -$256.7M | -4.9% | +19.7% | Source |
| FY2024 | $4.4B | -$300.5M | -6.9% | +23.3% | Source |
| FY2023 | $3.5B | -$486.8M | -13.8% | +26.1% | Source |
| FY2022 | $2.8B | -$519.5M | -18.5% | +34.2% | Source |
| FY2021 | $2.1B | -$579M | -27.7% | +29.4% | Source |
| FY2020 | $1.6B | -$350.7M | -21.7% | +33.4% | Source |
| FY2019 | $1.2B | -$637.6M | -52.7% | +38.5% | Source |
| FY2018 | $874M | -$113.4M | -13.0% | +41.0% | Source |
| FY2017 | $619.9M | -$37.4M | -6.0% | +35.6% | Source |
| FY2016 | $457.1M | $4.4M | 1.0% | — | Source |
Postman
Postman does not publish annual revenue. What is known about its finances is in the summary above.
Full Postman financialsWhere the revenue comes from
Atlassian
- Cloud subscriptions~67%
Per-user cloud subscriptions for Jira, Confluence, Jira Service Management, Trello, Bitbucket, Loom, and Rovo across Free, Standard, Premium, and Enterprise editions. Cloud revenue was $4.41 billion in fiscal 2026, up 28%, and reached $1.21 billion in the fourth quarter alone.
- Data Center subscriptions~28%
On-premises term licenses with bundled support for self-managed deployments of Jira, Confluence, and other products. Data Center revenue was $1.83 billion in fiscal 2026, up 25%, but Atlassian announced the end of life of the line in September 2025: no new customers from March 2026, no expansions for existing customers after March 2028, and no maintenance after March 2029.
- Marketplace and other~5%
Fees from third-party app sales through the Atlassian Marketplace, which carries more than 6,000 apps and integrations, plus premier support, advisory, and training services. Marketplace and other revenue was $330.7 million in fiscal 2026, up 10%.
Postman
- Enterprise subscriptions
Not disclosed
Annual contracts for large organizations with SSO, SCIM, audit logs, governance, API Catalog and private API networks.
- Self-serve Solo and Team plans
Not disclosed
Monthly or annual per-user subscriptions paid by individuals and teams that need collaboration, more automation and more AI credits.
- Usage-based add-ons
Not disclosed
Pay-as-you-go AI credit overages and additional automation capacity; Fabric Gateway and Fern products add new lines from 2026.
Business model and strategy
Atlassian
How it makes money
Atlassian runs a land-and-expand B2B SaaS model. A small team, usually in engineering, adopts Jira, Confluence, Bitbucket, or Trello through a free edition or a self-service purchase. Because the tools connect to each other and to outside systems, use spreads to other departments such as IT, marketing, and HR.
Growth strategy
Atlassian's growth strategy has three parts. It pushes beyond engineering with Jira Service Management, aimed at the IT, HR, and customer-service desks that ServiceNow and Freshworks serve. It packages products into Collections, bundles sold around an outcome rather than per app, covering teamwork, software, service, and strategy.
Competitive advantage
Atlassian's moat is switching cost. Jira is often criticized for complexity, but it holds years of issue history, workflow configuration, and integrations with code repositories and CI systems, so replacing it means rebuilding how an engineering organization records its work.
Postman
How it makes money
Postman makes money from subscriptions. The free plan gets developers in the door; since March 1, 2026 it supports a single user, so teams that share workspaces must pay.
Growth strategy
Postman's growth strategy has three parts. First, cover the whole API lifecycle: Akita added traffic-based observability in 2023, Orbit added developer community tooling in 2024, liblab added automated SDK generation in November 2025 and Fern added docs and SDKs in January 2026.
Competitive advantage
Postman's advantage is habit and network. Many developers learn APIs inside Postman, millions of collections already exist in its format, and API providers publish official workspaces on the Postman API Network, which lists more than 100,000 public APIs.
Questions about Atlassian vs Postman
Which company has higher revenue — Atlassian Corporation or Postman, Inc.?
Atlassian Corporation reported $6.6B (FY2026). A verified revenue figure for Postman, Inc. was not available at the time of this comparison.
What is the market cap of Atlassian Corporation vs Postman, Inc.?
Atlassian Corporation has a market capitalisation of $45.4B. A public market cap figure for Postman, Inc. was not available (it may be privately held).
Which is more financially efficient — Atlassian Corporation or Postman, Inc.?
Atlassian Corporation generates $494k / employee in revenue per employee. A comparable figure for Postman, Inc. requires matching employee and revenue data from the same reporting period.
How do Atlassian Corporation and Postman, Inc. make money?
Atlassian Corporation and Postman, Inc. generate revenue in fundamentally different ways. Atlassian Corporation: Atlassian runs a land-and-expand B2B SaaS model. Postman, Inc.: Postman makes money from subscriptions.
Figures come from each company's filings and the sources linked beside them. Amounts reported in another currency are shown in US dollars at an approximate rate and marked with ~. Back to the Atlassian vs Postman overview