Postman, Inc.
Business Model Analysis
How Postman Makes Money
Annual Revenue: $313.1M (unaudited)
- How does Postman make money?
- Postman makes money from Enterprise subscriptions, Self-serve Solo and Team plans and Usage-based add-ons.
Postman generates revenue primarily through API Development Platform, with roughly $313.1M (unaudited) in annual revenue.
Core Growth Engine: Postman's growth strategy has three parts. First, cover the whole API lifecycle: Akita added traffic-based observability in 2023, Orbit added developer community tooling in 2024, liblab added automated SDK generation in ...
Revenue Model & Pricing
Postman makes money from subscriptions. The free plan gets developers in the door; since March 1, 2026 it supports a single user, so teams that share workspaces must pay. Paid plans are Solo (about $9 per month for individuals who want more AI credits and automation), Team (from about $19 per user per month, replacing the old Basic plan) and Enterprise (custom contracts with SSO, SCIM, audit logs, API Catalog, governance and private API networks). On top of seats, Postman sells usage: AI credits beyond plan allowances are billed pay-as-you-go, and monitors, mock calls and other automation have plan limits. The bottom-up pattern is typical of product-led growth: individual engineers adopt the tool, teams standardize on it, and the company later signs an enterprise agreement. Postman does not disclose how revenue splits across these lines.
Core Revenue Streams
Enterprise subscriptions
Not disclosedAnnual contracts for large organizations with SSO, SCIM, audit logs, governance, API Catalog and private API networks.
Self-serve Solo and Team plans
Not disclosedMonthly or annual per-user subscriptions paid by individuals and teams that need collaboration, more automation and more AI credits.
Usage-based add-ons
Not disclosedPay-as-you-go AI credit overages and additional automation capacity; Fabric Gateway and Fern products add new lines from 2026.
Growth Strategy
Postman's growth strategy has three parts. First, cover the whole API lifecycle: Akita added traffic-based observability in 2023, Orbit added developer community tooling in 2024, liblab added automated SDK generation in November 2025 and Fern added docs and SDKs in January 2026. Second, move enterprise work into Git: the March 2026 platform introduced Git-connected Workspaces and an API Catalog that acts as a management plane for an organization's APIs and services. Third, own agent connectivity through Agent Mode, Postman.ai and Fabric Gateway. Pricing changes in 2026 support all three by turning more free usage into paid Team and Enterprise seats.
How Postman Makes Money: FAQ
What is the core business model of Postman, Inc.?
Postman operates a developer-first product-led growth (PLG) and enterprise software-as-a-service (SaaS) subscription model. It offers a generous free tier for individual developers and small teams, monetizing through tiered paid monthly and annual per-user seat subscriptions (Basic, Professional, and Enterprise) alongside add-on mock server and monitoring credits.
What are Postman's pricing plans in 2026?
Since March 2026 Postman offers Free (one user, 50 AI credits per month), Solo (about $9 per month for individuals), Team (from about $19 per user per month, replacing Basic) and Enterprise (custom pricing with SSO, SCIM, governance and API Catalog).
How does Postman execute its bottom-up developer product-led growth (PLG) motion?
Individual software engineers adopt Postman for free to test local APIs on their laptops. As engineering teams collaborate on shared APIs, they upgrade to paid team plans, eventually expanding into enterprise-wide procurement contracts managed by corporate CISOs and VP of Engineering leaders.
What enterprise security and governance features are monetized in Postman Enterprise?
Postman Enterprise monetizes mission-critical governance tools: Single Sign-On (SAML/Okta/Azure AD), automated user provisioning (SCIM), Private API Networks, API Governance and Linting rules, Secret Scanner (preventing leaked API keys), static IP proxy whitelisting, and SOC 2 Type II compliance.
How does Postman charge for AI features?
Each plan includes monthly AI credits (for example 50 on Free and 400 on Solo), and additional credits are billed pay-as-you-go at a few cents per credit, with lower rates on higher plans.
What are Postman's main costs?
Postman does not publish its cost structure. As a cloud software company its main costs are engineering staff in Bengaluru, San Francisco and elsewhere, cloud hosting for workspaces and monitors, AI model usage, and sales and marketing.
How does the Postman CLI (Newman / Postman CLI) integrate into CI/CD pipelines?
The Postman CLI allows engineering teams to run automated API regression tests directly inside CI/CD deployment pipelines (GitHub Actions, GitLab, Jenkins, CircleCI), ensuring that code commits that break API contracts are automatically blocked before deploying to production.
Why did Postman limit its free plan to one user?
Postman said the March 2026 changes were meant to align plans with how individuals, teams and organizations use the product. The effect is that any team sharing a workspace now needs a paid Team or Enterprise plan, converting free collaborative use into paid seats.
Related Monetization Mechanics
Compare revenue streams, unit economics, and business models
Explore Postman
Core profile pages, founders and related research hubs for this company.