Anthropic vs Cohere: Revenue, Profit and Business Model
Anthropic reported $65B of revenue in FY2026 and — of net income. Cohere reported $240M of revenue in FY2025 and — of net income.
Latest financial snapshot
Financial summary
Anthropic
Anthropic's draft IPO prospectus, described by Reuters on September 28, 2026, shows 2025 revenue of $4.59 billion against $386 million in 2024, an operating loss of $8.06 billion (from $2.98 billion) and a GAAP net loss of $41.97 billion (from $8.31 billion). About $34 billion of that loss was a non-cash charge tied to convertible financing from Google and Amazon rather than cash burn. Operating expenses reached $12.65 billion, including $7.33 billion of compute and infrastructure, and the company ended 2025 with $20.28 billion of cash, cash equivalents and short-term investments. Growth since then has outpaced the annual accounts: run-rate revenue was $14 billion in February 2026, crossed $47 billion in May, reached about $65 billion in July, and second-quarter revenue of $11.5 billion came with the first positive adjusted operating income. Funding followed the same curve, from a $13 billion Series F at a $183 billion valuation in September 2025 to a $30 billion Series G at $380 billion in February 2026 and a $65 billion Series H at $965 billion in May 2026.
Cohere
Cohere is private and does not publish audited financials, so its figures come from investor communications and press reports. Annualized revenue was about $13 million at the end of 2023, roughly $100 million by mid-2025, and $240 million ARR at the end of 2025, ahead of a $200 million target (The Globe and Mail, CNBC, February 2026). Its valuation rose from $2.2 billion (Series C, June 2023) to $5.5 billion (Series D, July 2024), $6.8 billion (August 2025, $500 million raise) and about $7 billion after a $100 million extension in September 2025. The April 2026 Aleph Alpha combination and a concurrent Series E, anchored by Schwarz Group, were reported to value the company near $20 billion, and in September 2026 The Globe and Mail reported talks to raise a further $2 billion to $3 billion. Cohere has not disclosed net income.
Revenue and profit by year
Anthropic
| Year | Revenue | Net income | Margin | Growth | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2026 | $65B | — | 0.0% | +1316.1% | Source |
| FY2025 | $4.6B | -$42B | -914.4% | +1089.1% | Source |
| FY2024 | $386M | -$8.3B | -2152.8% | — | Source |
Cohere
| Year | Revenue | Net income | Margin | Growth | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $240M | — | 0.0% | — | Source |
| FY2023 | $13M | — | 0.0% | — | Source |
Where the revenue comes from
Anthropic
- Developer and enterprise API consumption
Token-billed access to the Claude models through the Claude Developer Platform, with prompt caching priced at $0.20 per million tokens on Claude Opus 5.5 to make long agent loops affordable. Anthropic does not publish a segment split; the two largest customers each accounted for about 12 percent of 2025 revenue.
- Agent products
Claude Code and Cowork are sold to individuals, teams and enterprises. Claude Code passed $1 billion of run-rate revenue in December 2025 and $2.5 billion by February 2026, when enterprises accounted for more than half of its revenue.
- Seat subscriptions
Claude Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise plans for individuals and organizations, including HIPAA-eligible enterprise deployments since January 2026.
- Cloud marketplace resale
Claude is sold through Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud Vertex AI and Microsoft Azure Foundry, which lets customers spend committed cloud budget on Claude.
Cohere
- Model API and cloud marketplace usage
Not disclosed
Per-token fees for Command, Embed and Rerank through Cohere's API and partners such as Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, Amazon Bedrock and Microsoft Azure.
- Private deployment and North subscriptions
Not disclosed
Annual contracts for running Cohere models and the North agent platform in customer VPCs, on-premise or in sovereign clouds.
- Custom and sovereign AI projects
Not disclosed
Custom model development and deployment work for governments and large enterprises, such as Japanese-language models with Fujitsu.
Business model and strategy
Anthropic
How it makes money
Anthropic charges for Claude in four ways. Developers and enterprises pay per million tokens on the Claude API, where cache reads cost far less than fresh input ($0.20 per million against $4 on Claude Opus 5.5). Individuals and teams pay subscriptions across Claude Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise plans.
Growth strategy
Growth runs through three channels. First, agent products: Claude Code went from internal experiment to general availability in May 2025 and over $2.5 billion of run-rate revenue by February 2026, and Cowork extended the same engine to non-technical work in January 2026. Second, cloud co-selling, with Claude the only frontier model on Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud Vertex AI and Microsoft Azure Foundry.
Competitive advantage
Anthropic leads on agentic coding and long-horizon tasks. Claude Opus 5.5, released September 22, 2026, tops Anthropic's published benchmark table on SWE-bench Pro (89.9 percent) and Terminal-Bench 4.0 (66.4 percent) while costing $4 per million input tokens and $20 per million output tokens, roughly 40 percent less to run than Opus 5.
Cohere
How it makes money
Cohere makes money by selling AI to businesses, not consumers. Customers pay per token to call its Command, Embed and Rerank models through Cohere's own API or cloud marketplaces such as Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, Amazon Bedrock and Microsoft Azure.
Growth strategy
Cohere's growth strategy has shifted from selling raw model APIs to selling complete, privately deployable AI systems. Key moves include the North agent platform (2025), acquisitions of Ottogrid (2025), Reliant AI (May 2026) and the pending Aleph Alpha merger, new offices in Paris and Seoul, and partnerships with cloud and software vendors including Oracle, Fujitsu, OpenText and Schwarz Group's STACKIT.
Competitive advantage
Cohere's main edge is deployability. Its models are built to run on as few as two GPUs (Command A, and Command A+ released in May 2026) and can be installed in a customer's private cloud, on-premise data center or air-gapped environment, rather than only through a shared API. That matters for regulated buyers and governments pursuing sovereign AI.
Questions about Anthropic vs Cohere
Which company has higher revenue — Anthropic PBC or Cohere Inc.?
Anthropic PBC reported $65.0B (FY2026), while Cohere Inc. reported $240.0M (FY2025). By last reported revenue, Anthropic PBC is the larger business, with Cohere Inc. reporting a smaller revenue base. Note: these are from different fiscal years and are not a direct like-for-like comparison.
Which is more financially efficient — Anthropic PBC or Cohere Inc.?
Anthropic PBC generates $26.00M / employee in revenue per employee. A comparable figure for Cohere Inc. requires matching employee and revenue data from the same reporting period.
How do Anthropic PBC and Cohere Inc. make money?
Anthropic PBC and Cohere Inc. generate revenue in fundamentally different ways. Anthropic PBC: Anthropic charges for Claude in four ways. Cohere Inc.: Cohere makes money by selling AI to businesses, not consumers.
Is Anthropic PBC bigger than Cohere Inc.?
By last reported revenue, Anthropic PBC ($65.0B (FY2026)) is the larger company compared to Cohere Inc. ($240.0M (FY2025)). Revenue scale is one dimension of size — market capitalisation, employee count, and geographic reach are also relevant depending on the context.
Figures come from each company's filings and the sources linked beside them. Amounts reported in another currency are shown in US dollars at an approximate rate and marked with ~. Back to the Anthropic vs Cohere overview