Skip to main content

Affirm vs Fiserv: Revenue, Profit and Business Model

Affirm had $4.3B of annual revenue in FY2026 and $1.9B of net income. Fiserv had $21.2B of annual revenue in FY2025 and $3.5B of net income.

Latest financial snapshot

Affirm

Latest annual revenue
$4.3B (FY2026)
Net income
$1.9B
Net margin
45.3%
Revenue growth
+48.8% a year, FY2019–FY2026

Fiserv

Latest annual revenue
$21.2B (FY2025)
Net income
$3.5B
Net margin
16.4%
Revenue growth
+16.2% a year, FY2016–FY2025

Financial summary

Affirm

Affirm's results depend on transaction volume, credit performance, funding costs, and loan-sale markets. FY2026 revenue was $4.261 billion on $50.2 billion of GMV. Net income was $1.930 billion, but included a $1.45 billion income-tax benefit from releasing a valuation allowance on domestic deferred tax assets.

Fiserv

Fiserv's revenue climbed from $5.8 billion in 2018 to $10.2 billion in 2019 after the First Data deal and reached $21.19 billion in 2025, with GAAP EPS of $6.34. Adjusted revenue was $19.8 billion in 2025 and free cash flow was $4.44 billion. The trajectory then turned: in Q2 2026 GAAP revenue fell 4% to $5.29 billion, GAAP EPS dropped 37% to $1.17 and adjusted EPS fell to $1.84, although free cash flow stayed at $1.1 billion for the quarter. Management now expects 2026 organic revenue between -1% and flat. Fiserv, Inc. is a monumental global provider of financial services technology, commanding a market valuation that frequently exceeds $90 billion.

Revenue and profit by year

Affirm

Affirm revenue, net income, margin and growth by fiscal year
YearRevenueNet incomeMarginGrowthSource
FY2026$4.3B$1.9B45.3%+32.2%Source
FY2025$3.2B$52.2M1.6%+38.8%Source
FY2024$2.3B-$517.8M-22.3%+46.3%Source
FY2023$1.6B-$985.3M-62.1%+17.7%Source
FY2022$1.3B-$707.4M-52.4%+55.0%Source
FY2021$870.5M-$441M-50.7%+70.8%Source
FY2020$509.5M-$112.6M-22.1%+92.7%Source
FY2019$264.4M-$120.5M-45.6%—Source
Full Affirm financials

Fiserv

Fiserv revenue, net income, margin and growth by fiscal year
YearRevenueNet incomeMarginGrowthSource
FY2025$21.2B$3.5B16.4%+3.6%Source
FY2024$20.5B$3.1B15.3%+7.1%Source
FY2023$19.1B$3.1B16.1%+7.6%Source
FY2022$17.7B$2.5B14.3%+9.3%Source
FY2021$16.2B$1.3B8.2%+9.3%Source
FY2020$14.9B$958M6.5%+45.8%Source
FY2019$10.2B$893M8.8%+74.9%Source
FY2018$5.8B$1.2B20.4%+2.2%Source
FY2017$5.7B$1.2B21.9%+3.5%Source
FY2016$5.5B$930M16.9%—Source
Full Fiserv financials

Where the revenue comes from

Affirm

  • Merchant network revenue

    Not separately reported as a percentage

    Fees earned when merchants use Affirm's payment network to facilitate transactions.

  • Card network revenue

    Not separately reported as a percentage

    Network revenue associated with virtual cards and Affirm Card transactions.

  • Interest income

    Not separately reported as a percentage

    Interest earned on loans held for investment.

  • Gain on sales of loans

    Not separately reported as a percentage

    Gains recognized when Affirm sells loans to third-party investors.

  • Servicing income

    Not separately reported as a percentage

    Fees earned for servicing loans owned by third parties.

Fiserv

  • Merchant Solutions

    About half of revenue

    Card processing fees, Clover subscriptions and hardware, and enterprise/e-commerce acquiring. Segment GAAP revenue grew 5% in 2025 and fell 1% in Q2 2026.

  • Financial Solutions

    About half of revenue

    Core account processing, digital banking, card issuing and processing, bill pay and Accel debit network fees. Segment GAAP revenue grew 2% in 2025 and fell 8% in Q2 2026.

Business model and strategy

Affirm

How it makes money

Affirm earns merchant-network revenue when consumers use its payment options, interest income on interest-bearing loans, card-network revenue, gains when it sells loans to third parties, and servicing income. Some plans carry 0% APR, while interest-bearing loans disclose a fixed repayment schedule. Affirm says it does not charge late or hidden fees.

Growth strategy

Affirm's disclosed growth priorities include increasing transaction frequency, expanding Affirm Card, adding merchants and platform integrations, entering additional markets, and maintaining diverse funding sources for originated loans.

Competitive advantage

Affirm underwrites each transaction individually in real time and offers fixed payment schedules without late fees. Its distribution includes integrations with major commerce platforms and merchants, while its funding model uses warehouse facilities, securitizations, and loan-sale partnerships.

Affirm business model in full

Fiserv

How it makes money

Fiserv earns mostly recurring, volume-based fees from two customer groups. Merchant Solutions charges merchants processing fees on card transactions, plus subscription and hardware revenue from Clover terminals and software, and fees from larger enterprise and e-commerce clients.

Growth strategy

Under the 'One Fiserv' plan launched in late 2025, management is reinvesting in technology, putting Clover at the center of its merchant strategy, adding AI and value-added services for banks, and simplifying the product portfolio.

Competitive advantage

Fiserv's main advantage is switching cost. Moving a bank's core ledger to a new vendor is a multi-year, high-risk project, so core banking clients rarely leave. Fiserv also sits on both sides of many transactions: it processes for card-issuing banks and for the merchants accepting those cards, and many of its bank clients refer local businesses to Clover.

Fiserv business model in full

Questions about Affirm vs Fiserv

Which company has higher revenue — Affirm Holdings, Inc. or Fiserv, Inc.?

Affirm Holdings, Inc. had $4.3B (FY2026), while Fiserv, Inc. had $21.2B (FY2025). By latest annual revenue, Fiserv, Inc. is the larger business, with Affirm Holdings, Inc. showing a smaller revenue base. Note: these are from different fiscal years and are not a direct like-for-like comparison.

What is the market cap of Affirm Holdings, Inc. vs Fiserv, Inc.?

Affirm Holdings, Inc.'s market capitalisation stands at $24.0B, while Fiserv, Inc.'s is $25.0B. Fiserv, Inc. carries the higher market valuation, reflecting investors' expectations of its future earnings power relative to Affirm Holdings, Inc..

How does revenue per employee compare for Affirm Holdings, Inc. and Fiserv, Inc.?

Affirm Holdings, Inc. has $1.81M / employee in revenue per employee, while Fiserv, Inc. has $558k / employee. Headcounts may use different dates, so the ratio alone does not establish which business operates more efficiently.

How do Affirm Holdings, Inc. and Fiserv, Inc. make money?

Affirm Holdings, Inc. and Fiserv, Inc. generate revenue in fundamentally different ways. Affirm Holdings, Inc.: Affirm earns merchant-network revenue when consumers use its payment options, interest income on interest-bearing loans, card-network revenue, gains when it sells loans to third parties, and servicing income. Fiserv, Inc.: Fiserv earns mostly recurring, volume-based fees from two customer groups.

Which company is valued higher relative to revenue — Affirm Holdings, Inc. or Fiserv, Inc.?

On a price-to-sales (P/S) basis, Affirm Holdings, Inc. trades at 5.6x P/S and Fiserv, Inc. at 1.2x P/S. Affirm Holdings, Inc. commands a higher revenue multiple, typically indicating that investors expect faster growth or higher future margins compared to Fiserv, Inc.. A higher multiple is not inherently better — it may also signal that the stock is priced for perfection.

Is Affirm Holdings, Inc. bigger than Fiserv, Inc.?

By last reported revenue, Fiserv, Inc. ($21.2B (FY2025)) is the larger company compared to Affirm Holdings, Inc. ($4.3B (FY2026)). Revenue scale is one dimension of size — market capitalisation, employee count, and geographic reach are also relevant depending on the context.

Figures come from each company's filings and the sources linked beside them. Amounts reported in another currency are shown in US dollars at an approximate rate and marked with ~. Back to the Affirm vs Fiserv overview

Content is for informational purposes only. Not financial advice. Data sourced from SEC filings, annual reports, and public records. See our full disclaimer and methodology.