Skip to main content

Scale AI vs Suno: Revenue, Profit and Business Model

Scale AI had $870M (unaudited) of annual revenue in FY2024. Suno had $200M of annual revenue in FY2025.

Latest financial snapshot

Scale AI

Latest annual revenue
$870M (unaudited) (FY2024)
Net income
Unavailable here
Net margin
—
Revenue growth
—

Suno

Latest annual revenue
$200M (FY2025)
Net income
Unavailable here
Net margin
—
Revenue growth
—

Financial summary

Scale AI

Scale is private and does not publish audited results. Bloomberg reported about $870 million of revenue in 2024 and a target near $2 billion for 2025 before the Meta deal. After OpenAI and Google pulled back, that target looked out of reach, but CEO Jason Droege wrote in early 2026 that 2025 was Scale's biggest revenue year, with more than $1 billion in new business and nearly half of bookings in Q4. The company valued itself at more than $29 billion in the June 2025 Meta transaction, up from $13.8 billion in its May 2024 Series F. Net income has not been disclosed, though Scale says the data business is now profitable. Scale AI is an absolute powerhouse in the artificial intelligence infrastructure sector, providing massive data labeling and RLHF services with a private market valuation of approximately $13.8 billion.

Suno

Suno is private and does not publish audited results. It reported $300 million in ARR and 2 million paid subscribers as of February 2026, and it was valued at $5.4 billion in its June 2026 Series D. Its model is freemium: free daily credits bring in users, and paid subscriptions add commercial rights and faster generation. Generating each song uses costly GPU computing, which is the company's main expense.

Revenue and profit by year

Scale AI

Scale AI revenue, net income, margin and growth by fiscal year
YearRevenueNet incomeMarginGrowthSource
FY2024 (unaudited)$870M———Source
FY2023$335M———Source
FY2022 (unaudited)$290M———Source
Full Scale AI financials

Suno

Suno revenue, net income, margin and growth by fiscal year
YearRevenueNet incomeMarginGrowthSource
FY2026 run-rate$300M———Source
FY2025$200M———Source
FY2024 run-rate$45M———Source
Full Suno financials

Where the revenue comes from

Scale AI

  • Data business

    Not disclosed

    Training data, RL environments, robotics data and evaluations for AI labs and large technology companies; profitable since the second half of 2025, per the company.

  • Applications: enterprise

    Not disclosed

    Generative AI applications for companies such as Mayo Clinic, BP and Allianz.

  • Applications: public sector

    Not disclosed

    AI programs for the U.S. Department of War and international governments including Qatar, the UK, Saudi Arabia and the UAE.

Suno

No segment breakdown is published.

Business model and strategy

Scale AI

How it makes money

Scale AI earns money in two ways. Its data business charges AI labs and large technology companies for training data, reinforcement learning environments and model evaluations, produced by software pipelines plus a paid contributor network run through Outlier and Remotasks; the company says it has paid contributors more than $1 billion over ten years.

Growth strategy

Scale's 2026 plan, as described by its leadership, is to move technical capabilities from the data business into applications faster, invest in a unified AI-native platform for enterprise and government customers, and expand abroad. It opened or grew offices in New York, London, Washington, D.C., Doha, St.

Competitive advantage

Scale's advantages are scale, track record and government access. It has applied what it calls 15 billion human decisions to train leading models across 150 languages and locales, it runs SEAL benchmarks such as Humanity's Last Exam and SWE-Bench Pro that labs cite at launch, and it holds U.S.

Scale AI business model in full

Suno

How it makes money

Suno operates a highly optimized B2C and B2B 'AI Software as a Service' (SaaS) model. 1. The Web Platform (The large core): A simple interface (and Discord integration) where users prompt songs. 2. Pro Subscriptions (The profit engine): Charging users $10-$30 a month to generate hundreds of songs and, crucially, to legally own the commercial rights to monetize those songs on YouTube or Spotify. 3.

Growth strategy

Suno's growth depends on resolving its legal position and on winning over working musicians. Universal, Sony and Warner sued the company, alleging that it trained its model on copyrighted music without permission, and Suno has argued fair use.

Competitive advantage

Suno's advantage is generating whole songs with realistic vocals. Other models, such as Google's MusicLM, produced instrumental music, while Suno was early to generate convincing singing that follows a lyric. Because the results sound like finished music, users share them on platforms such as TikTok, which brings in new users without paid marketing.

Suno business model in full

Questions about Scale AI vs Suno

Which company has higher revenue — Scale AI, Inc. or Suno?

Scale AI, Inc. had $870.0M (unaudited) (FY2024), while Suno had $200.0M (FY2025). By latest annual revenue, Scale AI, Inc. is the larger business, with Suno showing a smaller revenue base. Note: these are from different fiscal years and are not a direct like-for-like comparison.

How does revenue per employee compare for Scale AI, Inc. and Suno?

Scale AI, Inc. generates $725k / employee in revenue per employee. A comparable figure for Suno requires matching employee and revenue data from the same reporting period.

How do Scale AI, Inc. and Suno make money?

Scale AI, Inc. and Suno generate revenue in fundamentally different ways. Scale AI, Inc.: Scale AI earns money in two ways. Suno: Suno operates a highly optimized B2C and B2B 'AI Software as a Service' (SaaS) model.

Is Scale AI, Inc. bigger than Suno?

By last reported revenue, Scale AI, Inc. ($870.0M (unaudited) (FY2024)) is the larger company compared to Suno ($200.0M (FY2025)). Revenue scale is one dimension of size — market capitalisation, employee count, and geographic reach are also relevant depending on the context.

Figures come from each company's filings and the sources linked beside them. Amounts reported in another currency are shown in US dollars at an approximate rate and marked with ~. Back to the Scale AI vs Suno overview

Content is for informational purposes only. Not financial advice. Data sourced from SEC filings, annual reports, and public records. See our full disclaimer and methodology.