Plaid vs Stripe: Revenue, Profit and Business Model
Plaid reported $500M of revenue in FY2025 and — of net income. Stripe reported $6.8B of revenue in FY2025 and — of net income.
Latest financial snapshot
Financial summary
Plaid
Plaid does not publish audited financials. Its CEO said annual recurring revenue topped $500 million at the end of 2025, growing about 40%, and that the company is profitable. Valuations have swung widely: $2.65 billion in 2018, a $5.3 billion Visa offer in 2020, $13.4 billion in a 2021 Series D, $6.1 billion in an April 2025 round of about $575 million led by Franklin Templeton, and $8 billion in a February 2026 employee share sale.
Stripe
Stripe does not publish audited financials. Reported figures put net revenue (after card network and bank costs) at about $5.1 billion in 2024 and $6.8 billion in 2025, roughly 33% growth, while total volume rose from $1.4 trillion to $1.9 trillion. Stripe has said it is robustly profitable. Its private valuation fell to $50 billion in a 2023 funding round, recovered to $91.5 billion in a 2025 tender, and reached $159 billion in a February 2026 tender offer.
Revenue and profit by year
Plaid
| Year | Revenue | Net income | Margin | Growth | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $500M | — | 0.0% | — | Source |
Stripe
| Year | Revenue | Net income | Margin | Growth | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $6.8B | — | 0.0% | +33.3% | Source |
| FY2024 | $5.1B | — | 0.0% | — | Source |
Where the revenue comes from
Plaid
- Auth & Account Verification API Fees
Not disclosed
Per-call fees paid by apps to verify account numbers, routing codes, and instant account balances during user onboarding.
- Transactions & Enriched Data Subscription Fees
Not disclosed
Recurring monthly fees charged per active connected account to continuously fetch, categorize, and clean bank transaction feeds.
- Identity Verification (IDV) & Fraud Intelligence
Not disclosed
Per-check fees for KYC verification, automated ID scanning, and Beacon anti-fraud consortium risk scoring.
- Plaid Transfer & Payment Processing
Not disclosed
Transaction processing fees on direct account-to-account money transfers across ACH, RTP, and FedNow networks.
Stripe
- Payment processing fees
- Connect platform fees
- Billing and invoicing
- Tax automation
- Fraud prevention through Radar
- Issuing and Treasury
- Terminal and in-person payments
- Stablecoin and money movement infrastructure
Business model and strategy
Plaid
How it makes money
Plaid sells API access to businesses, not consumers. Apps pay usage-based or subscription fees when they verify an account (Auth), check a balance, pull transactions, verify income or identity, score fraud or ACH return risk (Signal, Beacon, Protect), or move money between bank accounts (Transfer and pay-by-bank). Larger customers sign platform contracts covering several products.
Growth strategy
Plaid is broadening from account linking into higher-value products: fraud and risk scoring (Beacon, Protect, Signal), cash-flow underwriting for lenders through Plaid Check, and pay-by-bank payments. It also sells multi-product platform deals to large fintechs and banks, and keeps expanding direct API connections with banks to replace older screen-scraping links.
Competitive advantage
Plaid's edge is network scale. It connects to more than 12,000 financial institutions and has years of transaction and account-link history, which feeds its fraud and risk models. Consumers recognize the Plaid Link screen, and products like Plaid Layer reuse a returning user's existing connections so onboarding takes fewer steps.
Stripe
How it makes money
Stripe earns most of its money from fees on payments it processes, typically a percentage plus a fixed fee per card transaction, with negotiated rates for large enterprises.
Growth strategy
Stripe is growing by selling more products to existing users and by moving up-market to large enterprises, while building for new payment flows. In 2025 it shipped more than 350 product updates, expanded stablecoin accounts and payouts, and launched agentic commerce tools with OpenAI.
Competitive advantage
Stripe's edge is breadth plus developer adoption. A business can start with a simple payments integration and add billing, tax, fraud, payouts, cards and stablecoin rails without switching vendors. That integration depth raises switching costs, and Stripe's data across $1.9 trillion of annual volume feeds products such as Radar and payment optimization.
Questions about Plaid vs Stripe
Which company has higher revenue — Plaid Inc. or Stripe, Inc.?
Plaid Inc. reported $500.0M (FY2025), while Stripe, Inc. reported $6.8B (FY2025). By last reported revenue, Stripe, Inc. is the larger business, with Plaid Inc. reporting a smaller revenue base.
Which is more financially efficient — Plaid Inc. or Stripe, Inc.?
Plaid Inc. generates $385k / employee in revenue per employee, while Stripe, Inc. generates $756k / employee. Stripe, Inc. shows higher revenue efficiency per headcount, though this reflects business model differences — capital-light software companies routinely outperform labour-intensive manufacturers on this metric.
How do Plaid Inc. and Stripe, Inc. make money?
Plaid Inc. and Stripe, Inc. generate revenue in fundamentally different ways. Plaid Inc.: Plaid sells API access to businesses, not consumers. Stripe, Inc.: Stripe earns most of its money from fees on payments it processes, typically a percentage plus a fixed fee per card transaction, with negotiated rates for large enterprises.
Is Plaid Inc. bigger than Stripe, Inc.?
By last reported revenue, Stripe, Inc. ($6.8B (FY2025)) is the larger company compared to Plaid Inc. ($500.0M (FY2025)). Revenue scale is one dimension of size — market capitalisation, employee count, and geographic reach are also relevant depending on the context.
Figures come from each company's filings and the sources linked beside them. Amounts reported in another currency are shown in US dollars at an approximate rate and marked with ~. Back to the Plaid vs Stripe overview