Patreon vs Teespring: Revenue, Profit and Business Model
Patreon reported $179M of revenue in FY2025 and — of net income. Teespring reported $2M of revenue in FY2025 and — of net income.
Latest financial snapshot
Financial summary
Patreon
Patreon is private and does not report revenue. Research firm Sacra estimates revenue of about $179 million for 2025, up 28% from 2024. Creators passed $10 billion in cumulative earnings in August 2025, up from $3.5 billion around 2021, and Patreon reported 25 million paid memberships at that time. Funding milestones include a $90 million Series E at a $1.2 billion valuation in September 2020 and a $155 million Series F led by Tiger Global at $4 billion in April 2021. Cost cuts followed: about 80 jobs (roughly 17% of staff) in September 2022 and 93 jobs (about 20%) in July 2026.
Teespring
Teespring raised venture capital in its early years, including a 2014 Series A led by Andreessen Horowitz and a $35 million Series B led by Khosla Ventures. Teespring never published audited revenue as a private company. Its financials first became public after Fresh Vine Wine (NYSE American: VINE) completed its acquisition of Amaze Software, the owner of Spring and the Teespring Marketplace, in March 2025 and renamed itself Amaze Holdings (AMZE). Amaze reported full-year 2025 revenue of about $1.97 million. In Q2 2026, revenue was about $0.6 million, up roughly 32% from Q1, and the net loss narrowed to about $4.4 million from $5.6 million. Cash rose to about $2.4 million, and the company retired its Series A preferred stock.
Revenue and profit by year
Patreon
| Year | Revenue | Net income | Margin | Growth | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $179M | — | 0.0% | — | Source |
Teespring
| Year | Revenue | Net income | Margin | Growth | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $2M | — | 0.0% | — | Source |
Where the revenue comes from
Patreon
- Platform fees on memberships
Majority (not disclosed)
10% standard fee (5%, 8% or 11% on legacy plans) on paid membership revenue.
- Platform fees on shop sales
Not disclosed
The same platform fee applied to one-off digital product sales.
- Payment processing and currency conversion
Not disclosed
Processing and conversion fees charged on fan payments.
Teespring
No segment breakdown is published.
Business model and strategy
Patreon
How it makes money
Patreon makes money by keeping a share of every payment fans make to creators. Creators who published a page after August 4, 2025 pay a flat 10% platform fee; older pages stay on legacy 5% (Lite), 8% (Pro) or 11% (Premium) plans. Payment processing fees (around 2.9% plus $0.30 per US card payment on standard transactions) and currency conversion charges are passed through to creators.
Growth strategy
Patreon is widening its funnel beyond paid memberships. Free memberships let creators collect fans directly; the shop sells one-off digital products; native video, private podcast feeds and community chats keep members engaged. A single 10% standard fee for new creators from August 2025 simplified pricing.
Competitive advantage
Patreon is format-agnostic: podcasters, video creators, musicians, writers, game developers and illustrators all use the same membership, shop and community tools. Switching costs are high because moving to another platform means asking every paying member to re-subscribe.
Teespring
How it makes money
Spring earns money on the difference between what a product sells for and what it costs to make. Spring sets a base cost for each item, covering the blank, printing, packaging and fulfillment. The creator sets the retail price and keeps the margin above that base cost. Spring handles payment, production, shipping and customer service, so creators carry no inventory.
Growth strategy
Amaze is pursuing growth on three fronts. The first is Amaze Commerce, with storefronts, product design, manufacturing and fulfillment, plus paid advanced services. The second is distribution through media and vertical communities, starting with Food Channel.
Competitive advantage
Spring has three main advantages. First, it has a long-standing integration with the YouTube merch shelf, where it was a launch partner in 2018, plus storefront links for TikTok, Twitch and Discord. Second, creators can start with no inventory, no minimum order and no upfront cost. Third, the Teespring name is widely recognized in creator merch.
Questions about Patreon vs Teespring
Which company has higher revenue — Patreon, Inc. or Teespring (Spring by Amaze)?
Patreon, Inc. reported $179.0M (FY2025), while Teespring (Spring by Amaze) reported $2.0M (FY2025). By last reported revenue, Patreon, Inc. is the larger business, with Teespring (Spring by Amaze) reporting a smaller revenue base.
Which is more financially efficient — Patreon, Inc. or Teespring (Spring by Amaze)?
Patreon, Inc. generates $484k / employee in revenue per employee. A comparable figure for Teespring (Spring by Amaze) requires matching employee and revenue data from the same reporting period.
How do Patreon, Inc. and Teespring (Spring by Amaze) make money?
Patreon, Inc. and Teespring (Spring by Amaze) generate revenue in fundamentally different ways. Patreon, Inc.: Patreon makes money by keeping a share of every payment fans make to creators. Teespring (Spring by Amaze): Spring earns money on the difference between what a product sells for and what it costs to make.
Is Patreon, Inc. bigger than Teespring (Spring by Amaze)?
By last reported revenue, Patreon, Inc. ($179.0M (FY2025)) is the larger company compared to Teespring (Spring by Amaze) ($2.0M (FY2025)). Revenue scale is one dimension of size — market capitalisation, employee count, and geographic reach are also relevant depending on the context.
Figures come from each company's filings and the sources linked beside them. Amounts reported in another currency are shown in US dollars at an approximate rate and marked with ~. Back to the Patreon vs Teespring overview