Monzo vs Revolut: Revenue, Profit and Business Model
Monzo reported ~$2.2B of revenue in FY2026 and ~$115.2M of net income. Revolut reported ~$5.9B of revenue in FY2025 and ~$1.7B of net income.
Latest financial snapshot
Financial summary
Monzo
Monzo spent its first years losing money while it grew a free account base. After a 2020 down-round, it added paid subscriptions, lending and business plans, and higher interest rates in 2022 and 2023 lifted income on its deposit base. It posted its first annual profit in FY2024 (~$20.3 million (£15.4 million) pre-tax on ~$1.16 billion (£880 million) revenue), then ~$79.9 million (£60.5 million) on about $1.58 billion (£1.2 billion) in FY2025. In FY2026 revenue rose 39% to ~$2.24 billion (£1.7 billion), gross profit passed ~$1.32 billion (£1 billion) for the first time, statutory pre-tax profit reached ~$115 million (£87.3 million) and adjusted pre-tax profit ~$228 million (£172.6 million). Operating expenses grew more than a third to ~$1.22 billion (£925.5 million) as it invested in staff and expansion.
Revolut
Revolut's growth has compounded quickly. Revenue rose from ~$1.22 billion (£923 million) in 2022 to ~$2.38 billion (£1.8 billion) in 2023, ~$4.09 billion (£3.1 billion) in 2024 and ~$5.94 billion (£4.5 billion) in 2025. Profit before tax went from ~$578 million (£438 million) (2023) to about $1.45 billion (£1.1 billion) (2024) and ~$2.24 billion (£1.7 billion) (2025), with net profit of about $1.72 billion (£1.3 billion) in 2025. Interest income grew only 23% in 2025, slower than other lines, while subscriptions rose 67% and cards 45%, so the mix is moving away from rate-driven income.
Revenue and profit by year
Where the revenue comes from
Monzo
- Net interest income
Not disclosed
Interest on deposits held with the Bank of England and on personal loans, overdrafts and Monzo Flex balances.
- Subscriptions
Not disclosed
Monthly fees for Monzo Extra, Perks and Max and paid Monzo Business plans.
- Interchange and other fees
Not disclosed
Card interchange, partner commissions and investment and pension platform fees.
Revolut
- Card payments~22%
About $1.32B (£1.0B) in 2025 (+45%) from interchange and payment fees.
- Interest income~22%
~$1.29B (£974M) in 2025 (+23%) from customer balances and lending.
- Subscriptions~16%
~$935M (£708M) in 2025 (+67%) from Plus, Premium, Metal and Ultra plans.
- Wealth~15%
~$875M (£663M) in 2025 (+31%) from stock, crypto and commodity trading.
- Foreign exchange~13%
~$800M (£606M) in 2025 (+43%) from currency exchange.
Business model and strategy
Monzo
How it makes money
Monzo makes money in four main ways. First, net interest income: it earns interest on customer deposits placed with the Bank of England and on its loan book of personal loans, overdrafts and Monzo Flex credit. Second, subscriptions: customers pay monthly for Monzo Extra, Perks and Max plans, which bundle perks such as insurance and higher savings rates.
Growth strategy
Monzo's growth strategy has three parts: get more UK customers to make Monzo their main account, sell them more products (loans, Flex, savings, investments, pensions and paid plans), and expand into Europe using its EU banking licence, starting with Ireland. In April 2026 it chose to exit the US, saying it would focus on its home market and Europe; about 50 roles were affected.
Competitive advantage
Monzo's edge is a combination of brand, scale and low-cost growth. It reports that 79% of new customers arrive by word of mouth, it holds a full UK banking licence that lets it fund lending with cheap deposits, and it runs on its own cloud-based core banking system rather than legacy mainframes, which lets it ship features quickly.
Revolut
How it makes money
Revolut runs a freemium model. The Standard account is free; paid plans (Plus, Premium, Metal and Ultra, roughly £3.99 to £55 a month in the UK) add higher limits, insurance and travel perks. Revenue comes from several roughly balanced streams.
Growth strategy
Revolut grows by entering new countries with a core multi-currency account, then adding local licences, credit and wealth products. Its September 2025 plan committed $13 billion over five years, including about $4 billion in the UK, and aimed at 100 million customers by mid-2027. In 2026 it is focused on UK lending after the full licence, a US bank charter, Latin America (Mexico, Colombia, Peru) and India.
Competitive advantage
Revolut's edge is product breadth delivered on in-house technology at low cost. One app covers spending, FX in 30+ currencies, savings, investing, crypto, credit and business banking, so customers can consolidate several providers.
Questions about Monzo vs Revolut
Which company has higher revenue — Monzo Bank Limited or Revolut Ltd?
Monzo Bank Limited reported ~$2.2B (FY2026), while Revolut Ltd reported ~$5.9B (FY2025). By last reported revenue, Revolut Ltd is the larger business, with Monzo Bank Limited reporting a smaller revenue base. Note: these are from different fiscal years and are not a direct like-for-like comparison.
Which is more financially efficient — Monzo Bank Limited or Revolut Ltd?
Monzo Bank Limited generates $425k / employee in revenue per employee, while Revolut Ltd generates $495k / employee. Revolut Ltd shows higher revenue efficiency per headcount, though this reflects business model differences — capital-light software companies routinely outperform labour-intensive manufacturers on this metric.
How do Monzo Bank Limited and Revolut Ltd make money?
Monzo Bank Limited and Revolut Ltd generate revenue in fundamentally different ways. Monzo Bank Limited: Monzo makes money in four main ways. Revolut Ltd: Revolut runs a freemium model.
Is Monzo Bank Limited bigger than Revolut Ltd?
By last reported revenue, Revolut Ltd (~$5.9B (FY2025)) is the larger company compared to Monzo Bank Limited (~$2.2B (FY2026)). Revenue scale is one dimension of size — market capitalisation, employee count, and geographic reach are also relevant depending on the context.
Figures come from each company's filings and the sources linked beside them. Amounts reported in another currency are shown in US dollars at an approximate rate and marked with ~. Back to the Monzo vs Revolut overview