Skip to main content

Johnson & Johnson vs TotalEnergies: Revenue, Profit and Business Model

Johnson & Johnson reported $94.2B of revenue in FY2025 and $26.8B of net income. TotalEnergies reported $201.2B of revenue in FY2025 and $13.1B of net income.

Latest financial snapshot

Johnson & Johnson

Latest revenue
$94.2B (FY2025)
Net income
$26.8B
Net margin
28.5%
Revenue growth
+3.0% a year, FY2016–FY2025

TotalEnergies

Latest revenue
$201.2B (FY2025)
Net income
$13.1B
Net margin
6.5%
Revenue growth
+5.2% a year, FY2016–FY2025

Financial summary

Johnson & Johnson

J&J's sales grew from $85.2 billion in 2023 to $88.8 billion in 2024 and $94.2 billion in 2025, while FY2025 net earnings reached $26.8 billion. Q2 2026 sales were $25.31 billion (Innovative Medicine $16.38 billion, MedTech $8.93 billion), net earnings were $5.53 billion, adjusted EPS was $2.90, and first-half free cash flow was about $8.7 billion. Management guides 2026 sales of $100.8 to $101.4 billion and adjusted EPS of $11.60 to $11.75. The company has raised its dividend for more than 60 consecutive years, and its market value was roughly $644 billion in mid-September 2026.

TotalEnergies

TotalEnergies' 2025 results showed how much its earnings still track oil prices. Revenues from sales fell to $182.344 billion (total revenues including excise taxes of $201.2 billion), adjusted net income dropped 15% to $15.6 billion and IFRS net income attributable to shareholders was $13.1 billion. Cash flow slipped only 7% to nearly $28 billion because upstream production grew about 4%. Gearing ended 2025 at 15%, ROACE was 12.6% and the 2025 dividend rose 5.6% to €3.40 per share. In 2026, higher crude prices linked to the Middle East conflict reversed the trend: second-quarter adjusted net income reached $6.0 billion, cash flow $9.8 billion and first-half adjusted net income about $11.4 billion.

Revenue and profit by year

Johnson & Johnson

Johnson & Johnson revenue, net income, margin and growth by fiscal year
YearRevenueNet incomeMarginGrowthSource
FY2025$94.2B$26.8B28.5%+6.0%Source
FY2024$88.8B$14.1B15.8%+4.3%Source
FY2023$85.2B$35.2B41.3%+6.5%Source
FY2022$80B$17.9B22.4%+1.6%Source
FY2021$78.7B$20.9B26.5%-4.7%Source
FY2020$82.6B$14.7B17.8%+0.6%Source
FY2019$82.1B$15.1B18.4%+0.6%Source
FY2018$81.6B$15.3B18.8%+6.7%Source
FY2017$76.5B$1.3B1.7%+6.3%Source
FY2016$71.9B$16.5B23.0%—Source
Full Johnson & Johnson financials

TotalEnergies

TotalEnergies revenue, net income, margin and growth by fiscal year
YearRevenueNet incomeMarginGrowthSource
FY2025$201.2B$13.1B6.5%-6.2%Source
FY2024$214.6B$15.8B7.3%-9.5%Source
FY2023$237.1B$21.4B9.0%-15.6%Source
FY2022$281B$20.5B7.3%+36.5%Source
FY2021$205.9B$16B7.8%+46.3%Source
FY2020$140.7B-$7.2B-5.1%-29.8%Source
FY2019$200.3B$11.3B5.6%-4.3%Source
FY2018$209.4B$11.4B5.5%+40.4%Source
FY2017$149.1B$8.6B5.8%+16.6%Source
FY2016$127.9B$6.2B4.8%—Source
Full TotalEnergies financials

Where the revenue comes from

Johnson & Johnson

  • Innovative Medicine~64%

    Innovative Medicine generated $60.401 billion in FY2025 sales across oncology, immunology, neuroscience, pulmonary hypertension, infectious disease, and cardiovascular/metabolism.

  • MedTech~36%

    MedTech generated $33.792 billion in FY2025 sales across surgery, orthopaedics, cardiovascular, and vision products.

TotalEnergies

  • Exploration & Production

    Not disclosed here

    Sales of crude oil and gas from about 2.5 million boe per day of 2025 production.

  • Integrated LNG

    Not disclosed here

    Liquefaction, shipping, trading and sale of LNG and gas under long-term and spot contracts.

  • Integrated Power

    Not disclosed here

    Wholesale and retail electricity from renewables, gas-fired plants and storage, plus retail gas supply.

  • Refining & Chemicals

    Not disclosed here

    Refined fuels, polymers and petrochemicals from integrated industrial platforms.

  • Marketing & Services

    Not disclosed here

    Retail and B2B sales of fuels, lubricants, aviation fuel and EV charging.

Business model and strategy

Johnson & Johnson

How it makes money

J&J makes money in two ways. Innovative Medicine (about 64% of FY2025 sales, $60.4 billion) sells patented prescription medicines to wholesalers, specialty pharmacies, hospitals, and governments; key products include DARZALEX for multiple myeloma, TREMFYA and STELARA in immunology, ERLEADA in prostate cancer, CARVYKTI cell therapy, and CAPLYTA, added through the 2025 Intra-Cellular Therapies deal.

Growth strategy

J&J is narrowing its portfolio toward higher-growth areas. It spun off consumer health as Kenvue in 2023, announced in October 2025 that it will separate its orthopaedics business as DePuy Synthes, and used acquisitions to refill its pipeline: Abiomed ($16.6 billion, 2022), Shockwave Medical ($13.1 billion, 2024), and Intra-Cellular Therapies ($14.6 billion, 2025).

Competitive advantage

J&J's edge is breadth plus balance-sheet strength. It runs one of the largest pharmaceutical R&D budgets in the industry, holds a AAA credit rating from S&P (one of only two US companies with that rating, alongside Microsoft), and sells into hospitals across pharmaceuticals and devices at the same time.

Johnson & Johnson business model in full

TotalEnergies

How it makes money

TotalEnergies makes money across five reporting segments. Exploration & Production sells crude oil and gas from about 2.5 million barrels of oil equivalent per day of output. Integrated LNG liquefies, ships, trades and sells gas from projects in Qatar, the U.S., Nigeria, Australia, Papua New Guinea and elsewhere.

Growth strategy

TotalEnergies' strategy centers on low-cost oil and gas production, LNG integration, disciplined downstream operations, renewable power capacity, electricity customers, and cash returns to shareholders.

Competitive advantage

TotalEnergies has an integrated LNG platform, upstream assets across multiple basins, downstream and marketing positions, and a growing power portfolio. Its advantage is breadth across molecules, refined products, and electrons.

TotalEnergies business model in full

Questions about Johnson & Johnson vs TotalEnergies

Which company has higher revenue — Johnson & Johnson or TotalEnergies SE?

Johnson & Johnson reported $94.2B (FY2025), while TotalEnergies SE reported $201.2B (FY2025). By last reported revenue, TotalEnergies SE is the larger business, with Johnson & Johnson reporting a smaller revenue base.

What is the market cap of Johnson & Johnson vs TotalEnergies SE?

Johnson & Johnson's market capitalisation stands at $643.9B, while TotalEnergies SE's is $205.0B. Johnson & Johnson carries the higher market valuation, reflecting investors' expectations of its future earnings power relative to TotalEnergies SE.

Which is more financially efficient — Johnson & Johnson or TotalEnergies SE?

Johnson & Johnson generates $669k / employee in revenue per employee, while TotalEnergies SE generates $2.01M / employee. TotalEnergies SE shows higher revenue efficiency per headcount, though this reflects business model differences — capital-light software companies routinely outperform labour-intensive manufacturers on this metric.

How do Johnson & Johnson and TotalEnergies SE make money?

Johnson & Johnson and TotalEnergies SE generate revenue in fundamentally different ways. Johnson & Johnson: J&J makes money in two ways. TotalEnergies SE: TotalEnergies makes money across five reporting segments.

Which company is valued higher relative to revenue — Johnson & Johnson or TotalEnergies SE?

On a price-to-sales (P/S) basis, Johnson & Johnson trades at 6.8x P/S and TotalEnergies SE at 1.0x P/S. Johnson & Johnson commands a higher revenue multiple, typically indicating that investors expect faster growth or higher future margins compared to TotalEnergies SE. A higher multiple is not inherently better — it may also signal that the stock is priced for perfection.

Is Johnson & Johnson bigger than TotalEnergies SE?

By last reported revenue, TotalEnergies SE ($201.2B (FY2025)) is the larger company compared to Johnson & Johnson ($94.2B (FY2025)). Revenue scale is one dimension of size — market capitalisation, employee count, and geographic reach are also relevant depending on the context.

Figures come from each company's filings and the sources linked beside them. Amounts reported in another currency are shown in US dollars at an approximate rate and marked with ~. Back to the Johnson & Johnson vs TotalEnergies overview

Content is for informational purposes only. Not financial advice. Data sourced from SEC filings, annual reports, and public records. See our full disclaimer and methodology.