AbbVie vs TotalEnergies: Revenue, Profit and Business Model
AbbVie reported $61.2B of revenue in FY2025 and $4.2B of net income. TotalEnergies reported $201.2B of revenue in FY2025 and $13.1B of net income.
Latest financial snapshot
AbbVie
- Latest revenue
- $61.2B (FY2025)
- Net income
- $4.2B
- Net margin
- 6.9%
- Revenue growth
- +10.1% a year, FY2016–FY2025
TotalEnergies
- Latest revenue
- $201.2B (FY2025)
- Net income
- $13.1B
- Net margin
- 6.5%
- Revenue growth
- +5.2% a year, FY2016–FY2025
Financial summary
AbbVie
AbbVie reported $61.160 billion of FY2025 net revenue and $4.226 billion of net income. Skyrizi and Rinvoq generated $25.866 billion combined, while Humira declined to $4.540 billion after U.S. biosimilar entry. The 2020 Allergan acquisition added neuroscience and aesthetics revenue, and the 2024 ImmunoGen and Cerevel acquisitions added oncology and neuroscience assets.
TotalEnergies
TotalEnergies' 2025 results showed how much its earnings still track oil prices. Revenues from sales fell to $182.344 billion (total revenues including excise taxes of $201.2 billion), adjusted net income dropped 15% to $15.6 billion and IFRS net income attributable to shareholders was $13.1 billion. Cash flow slipped only 7% to nearly $28 billion because upstream production grew about 4%. Gearing ended 2025 at 15%, ROACE was 12.6% and the 2025 dividend rose 5.6% to €3.40 per share. In 2026, higher crude prices linked to the Middle East conflict reversed the trend: second-quarter adjusted net income reached $6.0 billion, cash flow $9.8 billion and first-half adjusted net income about $11.4 billion.
Revenue and profit by year
AbbVie
| Year | Revenue | Net income | Margin | Growth | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $61.2B | $4.2B | 6.9% | +8.6% | Source |
| FY2024 | $56.3B | $4.3B | 7.6% | +3.7% | Source |
| FY2023 | $54.3B | $4.9B | 9.0% | -6.4% | Source |
| FY2022 | $58.1B | $11.8B | 20.4% | +3.3% | Source |
| FY2021 | $56.2B | $11.5B | 20.5% | +22.7% | Source |
| FY2020 | $45.8B | $4.6B | 10.1% | +37.7% | Source |
| FY2019 | $33.3B | $7.9B | 23.7% | +1.6% | Source |
| FY2018 | $32.8B | $5.7B | 17.4% | +16.1% | Source |
| FY2017 | $28.2B | $5.3B | 18.8% | +10.1% | Source |
| FY2016 | $25.6B | $6B | 23.2% | — | Source |
TotalEnergies
| Year | Revenue | Net income | Margin | Growth | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $201.2B | $13.1B | 6.5% | -6.2% | Source |
| FY2024 | $214.6B | $15.8B | 7.3% | -9.5% | Source |
| FY2023 | $237.1B | $21.4B | 9.0% | -15.6% | Source |
| FY2022 | $281B | $20.5B | 7.3% | +36.5% | Source |
| FY2021 | $205.9B | $16B | 7.8% | +46.3% | Source |
| FY2020 | $140.7B | -$7.2B | -5.1% | -29.8% | Source |
| FY2019 | $200.3B | $11.3B | 5.6% | -4.3% | Source |
| FY2018 | $209.4B | $11.4B | 5.5% | +40.4% | Source |
| FY2017 | $149.1B | $8.6B | 5.8% | +16.6% | Source |
| FY2016 | $127.9B | $6.2B | 4.8% | — | Source |
Where the revenue comes from
AbbVie
- Immunology Portfolio49.7%
FY2025 revenue was $30.406 billion, led by Skyrizi, Rinvoq, and Humira.
- Neuroscience Portfolio17.6%
FY2025 revenue was $10.767 billion, including Vraylar, Botox Therapeutic, Ubrelvy, and Qulipta.
- Oncology Portfolio10.9%
FY2025 revenue was $6.655 billion, including Imbruvica, Venclexta, and Elahere.
- Aesthetics Portfolio7.9%
FY2025 revenue was $4.860 billion, including Botox Cosmetic and Juvederm.
- Other Products and Revenue13.9%
The remaining FY2025 revenue came from eye care, other specialty products, and other revenue.
TotalEnergies
- Exploration & Production
Not disclosed here
Sales of crude oil and gas from about 2.5 million boe per day of 2025 production.
- Integrated LNG
Not disclosed here
Liquefaction, shipping, trading and sale of LNG and gas under long-term and spot contracts.
- Integrated Power
Not disclosed here
Wholesale and retail electricity from renewables, gas-fired plants and storage, plus retail gas supply.
- Refining & Chemicals
Not disclosed here
Refined fuels, polymers and petrochemicals from integrated industrial platforms.
- Marketing & Services
Not disclosed here
Retail and B2B sales of fuels, lubricants, aviation fuel and EV charging.
Business model and strategy
AbbVie
How it makes money
AbbVie earns revenue from global sales of prescription medicines and Allergan Aesthetics products. Its FY2025 portfolios were led by immunology at $30.406 billion, neuroscience at $10.767 billion, oncology at $6.655 billion, and aesthetics at $4.860 billion. The company funds internal research and supplements its pipeline through licensing and acquisitions.
Growth strategy
AbbVie is expanding approved uses and commercial reach for Skyrizi and Rinvoq while investing in oncology and neuroscience. ImmunoGen added Elahere and antibody-drug conjugate programs, Cerevel added clinical-stage neuroscience programs, and Allergan added Botox, Vraylar, migraine products, eye care, and aesthetics.
Competitive advantage
AbbVie's scale rests on its immunology portfolio, specialist commercial infrastructure, approved products across several therapeutic areas, and acquired oncology, neuroscience, and aesthetics assets. Those strengths are offset by patent-expiration, clinical-development, safety, reimbursement, and pricing risks described in its Form 10-K.
TotalEnergies
How it makes money
TotalEnergies makes money across five reporting segments. Exploration & Production sells crude oil and gas from about 2.5 million barrels of oil equivalent per day of output. Integrated LNG liquefies, ships, trades and sells gas from projects in Qatar, the U.S., Nigeria, Australia, Papua New Guinea and elsewhere.
Growth strategy
TotalEnergies' strategy centers on low-cost oil and gas production, LNG integration, disciplined downstream operations, renewable power capacity, electricity customers, and cash returns to shareholders.
Competitive advantage
TotalEnergies has an integrated LNG platform, upstream assets across multiple basins, downstream and marketing positions, and a growing power portfolio. Its advantage is breadth across molecules, refined products, and electrons.
Questions about AbbVie vs TotalEnergies
Which company has higher revenue — AbbVie Inc. or TotalEnergies SE?
AbbVie Inc. reported $61.2B (FY2025), while TotalEnergies SE reported $201.2B (FY2025). By last reported revenue, TotalEnergies SE is the larger business, with AbbVie Inc. reporting a smaller revenue base.
What is the market cap of AbbVie Inc. vs TotalEnergies SE?
AbbVie Inc.'s market capitalisation stands at $465.8B, while TotalEnergies SE's is $205.0B. AbbVie Inc. carries the higher market valuation, reflecting investors' expectations of its future earnings power relative to TotalEnergies SE.
Which is more financially efficient — AbbVie Inc. or TotalEnergies SE?
AbbVie Inc. generates $1.07M / employee in revenue per employee, while TotalEnergies SE generates $2.01M / employee. TotalEnergies SE shows higher revenue efficiency per headcount, though this reflects business model differences — capital-light software companies routinely outperform labour-intensive manufacturers on this metric.
How do AbbVie Inc. and TotalEnergies SE make money?
AbbVie Inc. and TotalEnergies SE generate revenue in fundamentally different ways. AbbVie Inc.: AbbVie earns revenue from global sales of prescription medicines and Allergan Aesthetics products. TotalEnergies SE: TotalEnergies makes money across five reporting segments.
Which company is valued higher relative to revenue — AbbVie Inc. or TotalEnergies SE?
On a price-to-sales (P/S) basis, AbbVie Inc. trades at 7.6x P/S and TotalEnergies SE at 1.0x P/S. AbbVie Inc. commands a higher revenue multiple, typically indicating that investors expect faster growth or higher future margins compared to TotalEnergies SE. A higher multiple is not inherently better — it may also signal that the stock is priced for perfection.
Is AbbVie Inc. bigger than TotalEnergies SE?
By last reported revenue, TotalEnergies SE ($201.2B (FY2025)) is the larger company compared to AbbVie Inc. ($61.2B (FY2025)). Revenue scale is one dimension of size — market capitalisation, employee count, and geographic reach are also relevant depending on the context.
Figures come from each company's filings and the sources linked beside them. Amounts reported in another currency are shown in US dollars at an approximate rate and marked with ~. Back to the AbbVie vs TotalEnergies overview